Here we go…

I’m in Sweden! I’ve lost a day, as well as a good night’s sleep, but i am here. Sadly, there is not much to report for a first day, as I got to my mother’s cousins’ house, started trying to plan a day of activities, and promptly fell asleep. Although it did me well, I lost four hours of usable daytime. I see it as all the more incentive to use tomorrow well.

Arlanda airport is a 45 minute transit from Stockholm Central Station, with a few modes of transportation available. I opted for the cheapest choice, the bus, which costs 79 SEK (~12.30 USD) and leaves every ten minutes from terminal 11, right outside of the airport. Stockholm Central is reminiscent of Penn Station, with its underground food and shopping area, connection to the metro that runs under the city, and the trains and buses that connect to outer, more rural, Stockholm. A week long transportation pass costs 320 SEK (~50 USD), which is not horribly cheap, but is usable on everything in the city. The place where I am now is called Skogas, and is an easy train ride from the city center.

Tomorrow morning I will go back into town, do some sightseeing, buy a SIM card, and just get things done in general. Maybe I’ll go for a run when I get back (if I don’t get lost) and later go to a climbing gym with my family. But for now, I think it is bedtime.

One more interesting thing I noticed today: Sweden has many more commercials emphasizing fitness than America does, advertising many more different types of sports.

God natt!