And the last night has come

Disclaimer: Apologies in advance for potential typos and grammatical errors, but I am not proof reading this right now.

Today will be my last night not only in Gothenburg, but in Sweden as well! Tomorrow, I will again shoulder my backpack(s) and hit the (rather damp) road again. My bus leaves from the Central Terminal at noon, and I will be aboard it for three whopping hours before I reach another country.

Yes, I am being sarcastic.

Actually, many of the Swedish people that I have spoken with have said that they never have visited Oslo. Personally, I think that for people from Gothenburg, it could be done as a day trip. For Stockholmers, maybe it is more of a weekend trip.

Today in the Gothenburg adventure chronicles, I visited the southern archipelago via commuter ferry. Visited it is rather an overstatement, I rather observed it while doing a loop on ferry 282 from Saltholmen Brygga. It was a rather gray day, so wandering around the islands didn’t seem all that attractive an option, and I rather enjoy being on the water (as I mentioned yesterday). All in all, the whole loop took about an hour and a half, along with more than an hour travel from the hostel. That time, along with needing to pack, and a late start due to the deadly combo of a headache and stomach ache in the morning, meant that by the time I got back to the hostel it was already dark. I saw some pretty awesome sights though, got to spend time on the water (always a plus), and did it all on the same ticket I already use to take trams and buses around the city – pretty cool, in my opinion. I took some pictures, but since it was so gray, I had a hard time finding the sweet spot for shutter speeds, and ISO’s and whatnot…I’ll see if this hostel computer can handle me viewing them. If it can, I will try to put them up, as well as all the other ones from Gothenburg.

Thoughts upon leaving Sweden? Indeed, I have a few…but I will preface it with a bit of advice for anyone my age (lets make the range 18-26) visiting on their own:

_____________________________

1. Sweden is not cheap. If you are trying to conserve money DO NOT EAT OUT. Food is ridiculously overpriced when prepared by anyone with any sort of training in the culinary arts. Even McDonald’s is pricey.

I have to admit though, one of the times that I got lost in Gothenburg, I wandered upon a McDonald’s and was super tempted to get some chicken nuggets. It was hard to resist, but in the end not being broke feels better than deep fried chicken tastes.

And that’s how you take a Kate Moss quote which smacks of excess and ridiculousness, and turn it into a life lesson filled with common sense and respectability.

I am exaggerating here.

Anyway, i have gone on a tangent.

2!!!!! Again, if you’re travelling with a monetary constraint, travel in the summer time. It is easier to diverge from the main cities and, therefore, more expensive sleeping arrangements. The cheapest sleeping arrangement that seemed to have the most acceptable approval rating is the one I am staying at now, and it cost 200 SEK a night for a dorm bed. I think that if I came to Sweden again, it would definitely be during a warmer, less rainy time of year, and I would take the opportunity to hike more of the countryside, sans prearranged sleeping place.

3. Have something planned ahead of times for Sundays and Mondays. A surprising number of shops, museums, and attractions are closed on those two days. Of course, there is always something open, but you just have to make sure that you don’t do that something on a day when everything else is also open. Logical, no?

4. If you come on a weekend or a Friday, many young peoples will be clubbing and drinking. I did not go myself, as I am a lonely girl, but this is what I found out from my fellow hostel mates:

There are different drinking ages for different alcohols. Beer, I believe, is 18, and liquors is 21. Some clubs will not allow individuals that are less than 21 years old to enter, so don’t think that all of Europe is a boozey free for all. Also, only alcohols bellow a certain proof will be sold at general stores. Liquors above that percentage must be purchased at a government run store. At social establishments, all drinks are expensive (even beers), and so are the cover charges that many have.

Go out only if you want to make your wallet cry.

I have also been told that Swedes go cray cray when on a night out. Beware the crazy blondes. Not to be stereotypical or anything.

5. This is especially for the age range that here in Sweden is called “youth” (ie. 18 to 26). There are many places that have up to 100% discount for this group of humans. I was able to enter for free into three of the museums here in Gothenburg; into one other, the prices was severely reduced. Both the bus tickets I have bought were reduced price as well, which is good because they were still pretty expensive (at least compared to Poland and the cheap as anything Chinatown buses in NYC). Take advantage of it!

6. This one is more of a side note. If you’re into ships and water activities, come during the summer. Kayak rentals and boat tours close during the colder months, and even the museums that are located on ships (think the Intrepid in New York) close down for maintenance during the wintertime.

_____________________________

As for reflections…I will have to give this a little bit more thought on the bus tomorrow, write some stuff down in my notebook, and make sure that my thoughts aren’t too nonsensical to post on the internet. I write these posts with great gravity. Obviously.

Anyway, right now I have a hankering for some tea so…

Peacesicles. wondrous rainbowliscious unicorns of the world. Go gallop across that colorful bridge into your personal vat of skittles! TASTE THE RAINBOWWWWWWW…