Where in the world is…Marta Sowka?

So I actually woke up at a normal time today! Even though I was planning a later day! Oh…wait…

It’s alright though, because I got a whole bunch done today. On the way into the city, due to the wonders of internet available on telephones, I discovered that the Medieval Stockholm Museum doesn’t open until noon, which meant I had some time before needing to head over. So, I made it to Central Station, and headed off to visit the Stadshusset, or, in English, the City Hall. There are two parts of the City Hall available to visitors, the Courtyard and what I believe is called the Blue Room. The Blue Room, which is where something having to do with the Nobel Prize occurs (I read a plaque…and it’s late now…cut me some slack), is only available through guided, fairly expensive, tours. The courtyard, however, is free; anyone can come wander in off of the street. From the edge of the yard, there is one of the prettier sights I’ve seen in Stockholm. You can look off at the rising tower peaks of the Old Town; at the metallic and modern figure that is the Central Station; or at the scenic town on a cliff that is the coast of Sodermalm, ringed by boats. Sure, there is some construction here and there, but at the right angle, it’s barely noticeable. The gardens are wonderfully manicured, and there are steps leading right up to the water, guarded by wrought statues that, to their eternal shame, I am sure, seem to be constantly ridiculed by tourists. Just today, I saw one of the stoic, helmeted men being dressed in a baby blue down jacket and hugged for a photo opportunity.

It was pretty amusing.

The building itself is beautiful as well, although its most striking features have to be the towers, topped with half moon pinnacles, covered with climbing ivy that has started to turn red, orange and yellow with the coming of the fall weather. Against the brownish brick color of the building, its is quite a stunning contrast.

There are a few bridges leaving the island which houses the Stadshusset, some leading back to the mainland, some leading to the Old Town…I managed to take that one wrong turn somewhere, and ended up in Sodermalm. Somewhere I had not planned on going, but am ultimately glad I ended up seeing.

This area of Stockholm is quiet, colorful, full of personality…walking down what could only be described as a boardwalk, you can see an array of sailboats, house boats and work boats on the right, and high cliffs with railings and roofs peaking over the edge on the left. Runners practically swarm around you, and the streets are practically devoid of tourists. After about ten minutes of walking along the water’s edge (although it might have been more, I easily lost track of time today) I saw a wooden staircase leading up from the coast, through a more green area, practically through the backyards of houses, towards the higher streets. The path up itself is a sight worth seeing, it really does have a magical quality about it. The bases of the trees are dotted with tall, vibrantly colored sunflowers, and the fences, built tall in the traditional style, are painted bright colors that match the changing greenery. It was quite a happy break from the crowded, neon lit streets that, in my mind, define Central Stockholm.

The upper streets themselves are quite pleasant as well, especially as there are a few houses that were specifically preserved in their original colors and styles, especially around the street which would translate to ‘Cat Alley’ in English. People wander; dogs romp around parks situated right on the edge, looking over the coastline; and large, beautiful birds attempt to hijack bikes.

It’s true. I have photographic proof.

In the end, I wound up just spending a lot of time wandering around the place. I got lost a few times, and during the rest of them, was distracted by what I was seeing. Sodermalm wasn’t ornate, its streets weren’t bustling, and it definitely was not trying to be the spectacle that Central Stockholm is.

I think it is why I enjoyed it so much.

I did notice the time at some point, and I successfully made my way to the Old Town of Stockholm, where I was completely and ridiculously unsuccessful in finding the Medieval Museum, despite the aid of google maps, a GPS tracker, and the TripAdvisor Stockholm City Guide, which even has a “Point Me There” option.

Though, truth be told, I didn’t quite mind.

I made my way over to Djurgarden, since yesterday it has seemed like a very green, pretty and park-like place. I was right, it was, but by that point, I was hurting from all the walking of the day. Strangely enough, my legs were completely fine, it was my back that was the issue. All I wanted was to lay down, chug a cup of water, and read my notes.

So I hopped a bus back to Central Station and headed on home.

I had wanted to write a little bit more about the Nordic Museum, since I just lightly brushed over that yesterday, but this post turned out a bit longer than I expected it to. I guess I enjoyed Sodermalm even more than I had thought. So, tomorrow, I will write up what I thought of the Noriskamuseet. It can be my breakfast, although I must insist on my morning cup of coffee first. I don’t even want to consider the drivel that might spew forth without it.

For now, I am tired, more full than I have been in days (I would be happy if this were to not be the norm, though. I am quite pleased with how I feel on my minimal eating schedule), and sitting in bed. I think that that is a sign it is bedtime. Although I do have to mention dinner: delicate, uncooked brined salmon, crusted with dill. It was delicious. Do recommend. I would also recommend the yeast cardamom buns. Yeah, it sounds funky, but I scarfed that thing down.

In other news, Morgan Freeman sounds wonderful saying the word, “motherf****r.” It’s quite magical really.

Alright. Now I am actually done. Really.

Ciao!

Leave a comment